Kenseth’s Crew Wins Tissot Pit Road Award at Richmond

3rd Tissot win of season for No. 17 crew

Matt Kenseth’s pit crew claimed the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Saturday night’s (Sept. 11) Air Guard 400 Sprint Cup race at Richmond International Raceway.

It was the third Tissot win of the season for the No. 17 over-the-wall crew out of the Roush Fenway Racing stable. The win moved Kenseth’s crew into a second-place tie with Jamie McMurray’s crew in the Tissot standings. Jeff Gordon’s No. 24 crew continues to lead the pit road competition with four wins.

American Muscle

The weekly-winning crew receives $5,000 from Tissot plus a Tissot V8 Quartz Chronograph watch. The team with the most Tissot Pit Road Precision Award wins at the completion of the 36-race schedule will receive a $105,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the over-the-wall crew members and driver.

Kenseth’s Crown Royal Ford spent the least amount of time on Richmond’s pit road – 157.637 seconds – during the 400-lap, 300-mile race. Coming in second was Jimmie Johnson’s No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet (158.848) and third was Carl Edwards’ No. 99 Kellogg’s/Cheez-It Ford (159.202).

The No. 17 over-the-wall crew consists of: Justin Nottestad (front-tire changer), Joe Crossen (front-tire carrier), Dave Smith (rear-tire changer), Garrett Reding (rear-tire carrier), Cameron Cobb (jackman), Brad Robison (gasman) and Dave McDonald (catch can). The crew chief is Jimmy Fennig and the pit crew coach is Andy Ward.

“I think one of the reasons the No. 17 Crown Royal team had a successful night on pit road is because we’ve spent a lot of time focusing on night races and our night race technique,” said Ward. “The guys did a really nice job executing under pressure. This team has now earned its third Tissot award of the season, and I think that recognition gives our organization as a whole even more motivation to defend the title which the No. 16 team earned last season. I’m incredibly proud of this team for their accomplishments.”

Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.


2010 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Standings

Pos Team No. Pit Crew For Wins Prize Money

1 24 Jeff Gordon 4 $20,000

T2 17 Matt Kenseth 3 10,000

T2 1 Jamie McMurray 3 10,000

T4 56 Martin Truex Jr. 2 10,000

T4 18 Kyle Busch Team 2 10,000

T4 00 David Reutimann 2 10,000

T4 14 Tony Stewart 2 10,000

T8 42 Juan Pablo Montoya 1 5,000

T8 12 Brad Keselowski 1 5,000

T8 33 Clint Bowyer 1 5,000

T8 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 1 5,000

T8 39 Ryan Newman 1 5,000

T8 2 Kurt Busch 1 5,000

T8 26 Boris Said 1 5,000

T8 16 Greg Biffle 1 5,000

2010 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners

Daytona, 2/14 Juan Pablo Montoya Team

Fontana, 2/21 Jeff Gordon Team

Las Vegas, 2/28 Martin Truex Jr. Team

Atlanta, 3/7 Martin Truex Jr. Team

Bristol, 3/21 Brad Keselowski Team

Martinsville, 3/29 Clint Bowyer Team

Phoenix, 4/10 Matt Kenseth Team

Texas, 4/19 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team

Talladega 4/25 David Reutimann Team

Richmond, 5/1 Ryan Newman Team

Darlington, 5/8 Jamie McMurray Team

Dover, 5/16 Matt Kenseth Team

Charlotte, 5/30 Jeff Gordon Team

Pocono, 6/6 Kyle Busch Team

Michigan, 6/13 Kurt Busch Team

Sonoma, 6/20 Boris Said Team

Loudon, 6/27 Jeff Gordon Team

Daytona, 7/3 Jeff Gordon Team

Chicago, 7/10 Jamie McMurray Team

Indianapolis, 7/25 Jamie McMurray Team

Pocono, 8/1 Greg Biffle Team

Watkins Glen, 8/8 Kyle Busch Team

Michigan, 8/15 Tony Stewart Team

Bristol, 8/21 David Reutimann Team

Atlanta, 9/5 Tony Stewart Team

Richmond, 9/11 Matt Kenseth Team

Get 2 FREE stocks valued between $2.50-$1,400 when you open and fund a Webull brokerage account or earn 5% annual interest rate at Worthy.
The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here