Tim George Jr. Returns to RCR Driver Lineup in 2011

Jan 11-13 ARCA Open Test at Daytona Kicks of 2011 Season

WELCOME, N.C. (January 10, 2011) – Tim George Jr. returns to Richard Childress Racing’s driver lineup for 2011 as fulltime driver of the No. 31 RCR Chevrolet in the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards. George is also expected to compete in a limited NASCAR Nationwide Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series schedule in 2011.

In addition to George, Ty Dillon will compete in the full 2011 ARCA Racing Series schedule this season, driving the No. 41 RCR Chevrolet. They join Paul Menard (NASCAR Sprint Cup Series), Kevin Harvick (NSCS), Jeff Burton (NSCS), Clint Bowyer (NSCS), Austin Dillon (NCWTS) and Joey Coulter (NCWTS) as drivers competing under the RCR banner this year.

George, who will once again pair with veteran crew chief Gere Kennon, will make his first ARCA laps of 2011 in an RCR entry this Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday as part of an ARCA Open Test at Daytona. The 30-year-old New York, N.Y., native also spent last weekend at the “World Center of Racing” behind the wheel of a Grand-Am Rolex GT Series car as part of that series’ test session for the 24 hours of Daytona, in which George is scheduled to compete.

In 2010, George’s first full season of competition as an RCR driver, he continued a progression into stock car auto racing that began in 2008 with his most successful season in ARCA to date. In addition to earning two top-five and five top-10 finishes over the course of the 20-race ARCA Racing Series season, highlights of the year included leading laps and battling for the win during the late stages of the series’ race at New Jersey Motorsports Park and leading laps at Talladega Superspeedway en route to a third-place finish.

George has spent the last four years focusing on stock car racing but has an extensive road course racing background. In fact, the New York, N. Y., native has one win and three podium finishes at Road America in the Skip Barber Racing Series, and was the 2008 Grand-Am Rolex GT Series Rookie of the Year.

The Daytona Slick Mist 200 is live on SPEED on Saturday, February 12, 2011, beginning at 4:30 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time.

About Richard Childress Racing

Richard Childress Racing has earned more than 190 victories and 12 NASCAR championships, including six in the Sprint Cup Series with the legendary Dale Earnhardt. RCR was the first organization to win championships in the Sprint Cup Series, Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series. Its 2011 Sprint Cup Series lineup includes Paul Menard (No. 27 Menard’s Chevrolet), Kevin Harvick (No. 29 Budweiser Chevrolet), Jeff Burton (No. 31 Caterpillar Chevrolet) and Clint Bowyer (No. 33 Cheerios/Hamburger Helper Chevrolet). Its Camping World Truck Series program includes 2010 Rookie of the Year Austin Dillon (No. 3 Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet) and Joey Coulter, Jr. (No. 22 RCR Development Chevrolet). Tim George Jr. (No 31 RCR Development Chevrolet) and Ty Dillon (No. 41 Chevrolet) will compete in the 2011 ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

brand new bingo sites

American Muscle

10 deposit casinos

Latest articles