Ford Racing Did You Know? … Dover 2 Edition


DID YOU KNOW? … Ford Racing has won the first two Chase races for the first time since Greg Biffle did it in 2008 (Loudon and Dover).  A win this weekend at Dover International Speedway would mark the first time Ford Racing has won three straight Chase events since the format was adopted in 2004.

DID YOU KNOW? … Joey Logano became the ninth different Ford driver to win a Chase race with his triumph at New Hampshire Motor Speedway last weekend.  Carl Edwards has the most Chase wins by a Ford driver with eight while Greg Biffle has seven.

DID YOU KNOW? … Ford Racing has 12 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series wins this season, which is the most for the Blue Oval since 2005 (16).

DID YOU KNOW? … Richard Petty won the inaugural NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Dover International Speedway on July 6, 1969 in a Ford.  That was one of nine victories on the season for Petty, which was his only year behind the wheel of a Blue Oval vehicle.

DID YOU KNOW? … David Ragan made the first start of his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series career at Dover International Speedway on Sept. 24, 2006 in a sixth Jack Roush entry.  The other five were driven by Carl Edwards, Greg Biffle, Matt Kenseth, Mark Martin and Jamie McMurray.  Ragan was involved in a pair of accidents in the #06 Ford and finished 42nd.

DID YOU KNOW? … Former Ford owner Junie Donlavey won the only NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race of his career at Dover International Speedway on May 17, 1981 in the Mason-Dixon 500 when driver Jody Ridley took the checkered flag.  Donlavey made 863 starts and fielded strictly Ford products from 1965-2002 in NASCAR’s top series that featured names like LeeRoy Yarbrough, Fred Lorenzen, Harry Gant, Ricky Rudd, Ken Schrader and Dick Trickle.

DID YOU KNOW? … The last time Roush Fenway Racing finished 1-2-3 in a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race was on Sept. 21, 2008 at Dover International Speedway when Greg Biffle edged Matt Kenseth and Carl Edwards to the checkered flag.  The victory was Biffle’s second straight to open the 2008 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup after winning the opener at New Hampshire Motor Speedway the previous week.

DID YOU KNOW? … Mark Martin won three consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup Series fall races at Dover International Speedway from 1997-99 and four overall during his Ford tenure with car owner Jack Roush.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Best New Zealand Online Casinos and Leaf Racewear Safety Equipment Giveaway

Rocketplay Casino

Winspirit Australia

10 deposit casinos

Best Betting Sites in Canada

Latest articles