Kahne Wins Inaugural Good Sam Roadside Assistance 200 at Rockingham Speedway

Kasey Kahne was in the lead heading into the final 20 laps at Rockingham Speedway. He never relinquished that lead, scoring the victory in the inaugural Camping World Truck Series race at Rockingham Speedway. This was Kahne’s first victory in of 2012.

Kahne described this as “the best weekend I have had in a long time.” He drove in three races this weekend with three impressive finishes; third place in the Nationwide Series in Texas, seventh place in the Cup race, and the win at Rockingham.

[media-credit name=”Credit: Rainer Ehrhardt/Getty Images for NASCAR” align=”alignright” width=”253″][/media-credit]He went on to explain how happy he was to be a part of the event.

“When I heard they were putting a race on here at Rockingham, as soon as I heard about it, I was trying to figure out whom I would race for and how I would make it here,” he said.

He only got about 4 ½ hours sleep the previous night but that did not dampen his enthusiasm.

“Coming to ‘The Rock’ I was so excited that I woke up early. My alarm was supposed to go off at nine this morning and I woke up at 7:30 and couldn’t go back to sleep.”

Sunday marked NASCAR’s first return to Rockingham Speedway since February 2004.

‘The Rock,’ under the guidance of Andy Hillenburg, opened its arms to the fans allowing them access to the infield and pit road, areas that are normally out of bounds for most ticket holders. Golf cart shuttles were available to take fans to their seats. They were limited but if you didn’t mind waiting, you could catch a ride. The atmosphere was more like a family reunion than a sporting event.

Everyone from the staff to the fans to the drivers was excited to be a part of the track’s return to NASCAR.

Nelson Piquet Jr. led the field to green on a sunny Sunday afternoon in the Good Sam Roadside Assistance 200. He led a total of 107 laps during the race and was dominant most of the race.

Points leader John King spun out on lap four, hit the inside wall and brought out the first caution.

Piquet continued to lead the field and had just lapped the tenth place car when a debris caution was called.

Matt Crafton took the lead shortly after the restart, leaving Piquet Jr. in second place.

Kasey Kahne started in the rear of the field but quickly worked his way into the top three battling with Matt Crafton and Nelson Piquet Jr. for the lead. Kahne took over the lead on lap 155.

On the final pit stop Piquet Jr. was caught too fast exiting and had to go to the back of the field, ending his bid for a win. He fought his way back to finish the race in seventh position.

James Buescher finished the race in second place position earning him his second top ten finish of 2012. Matt Crafton finished third followed by Johnny Sauter. Timothy Peters rounded out the top five.

Peter’s fifth place pushed him to a six point lead in the point standings over Justin Lofton. Ty Dillon is third, followed by James Buescher and Parker Kligerman.

Ty Dillon finished in eighth place and was the highest finishing rookie.

The next Camping World Truck Series race will be April 21, 2012 at Kansas Speedway.

Unofficial Race Results
Good Sam Roadside Assistance 200, Rockingham Speedway
Pos. St. No. Driver Make Points
1 5 4 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet 0
2 16 31 James Buescher Chevrolet 42
3 8 88 Matt Crafton Toyota 42
4 10 13 Johnny Sauter Toyota 40
5 3 17 Timothy Peters Toyota 40
6 17 22 Joey Coulter Chevrolet 38
7 1 30 Nelson Piquet Jr. Chevrolet 39
8 12 3 Ty Dillon * Chevrolet 36
9 6 29 Parker Kligerman Ram 35
10 19 6 Justin Lofton Chevrolet 34
11 27 27 Jeb Burton * Chevrolet 33
12 22 9 Ron Hornaday Chevrolet 32
13 21 81 David Starr Toyota 31
14 11 98 Dakoda Armstrong * Toyota 30
15 23 32 Miguel Paludo Chevrolet 29
16 29 2 Tim George Jr. Chevrolet 28
17 13 33 Cale Gale * Chevrolet 27
18 15 24 Max Gresham * Chevrolet 26
19 18 92 David Reutimann Chevrolet 0
20 20 9 John Wes Townley * Toyota 24
21 24 275 Caleb Holman* Chevrolet 23
22 32 39 Ryan Sieg Chevrolet 22
23 30 214 Brennan Newberry Chevrolet 21
24 28 23 Jason White Ford 20
25 14 8 Ross Chastain * Toyota 19
26 2 5 Paulie Harraka * Ford 18
27 36 170 Jeff Agnew Chevrolet 17
28 26 202 Tyler Young Chevrolet 16
29 33 93 Chris Cockrum Chevrolet 15
30 35 57 Norm Benning Chevrolet 14
31 7 11 Todd Bodine Toyota 13
32 31 99 Bryan Silas * Ford 12
33 25 7 John King * Toyota 11
34 4 18 Jason Leffler Toyota 10
35 34 7 Johnny Chapman Toyota 9
36 9 60 Grant Enfinger Chevrolet 8

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com

Angie Campbell
Angie Campbell
A native of Charlotte, NC, Angela (Angie) was first introduced to racing by her father. An avid fan of NASCAR, she found a way to combine her love of racing with her passion for writing. Angie is also an award-winning member of the National Motorsports Press Association. Follow her on Twitter @angiecampbell_ for the latest NASCAR news and feature stories.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Best New Zealand Online Casinos

RacingJunk.com and Leaf Racewear Safety Equipment Giveaway

Rocketplay Casino

Winspirit Australia

10 deposit casinos

Best Betting Sites in Canada

Latest articles