Weekend schedule for Texas

The NASCAR Cup Series and Xfinity Series travel to Texas Motor Speedway this weekend.

The Round of 8 Cup Series Playoffs begins at Texas, followed by races at Kansas Speedway and Martinsville Speedway where four more drivers will be eliminated. The four drivers left standing will compete for the series championship at the season finale at Phoenix on Nov. 7.

On Saturday, the Xfinity Series Round of 8 Playoffs will also begin at Texas culminating with the season finale at Phoenix Raceway where they will crown a champion.

The Camping World Truck Series is off and will return Oct. 30 at Martinsville Speedway, to determine the final four heading into the championship race at Phoenix.

All times are Eastern.

Saturday, October 16

2:20 p.m.: Xfinity Series Driver Intros
3 p.m.: Xfinity Series Andy’s Frozen Custard 335 race
Stages 45/90/200 Laps = 300 Miles
Pole: AJ Allmendinger

Sunday, October 17

1:20 p.m.: Cup Series Driver Intros
2 p.m.: Cup Series Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500 race
Stages 105/210/334 Laps = 501 Miles
Pole: Kyle Larson

Cup Series Playoff Drivers Following the Charlotte Road Course

1Kyle Larson (P)4,065
2Denny Hamlin (P)4,030
3Martin Truex Jr. (P)4,029
4Ryan Blaney (P)4,024
5Kyle Busch (P)4,023
6Chase Elliott (P)4,022
7Joey Logano (P)4,013
8Brad Keselowski (P)4,008

Xfinity Series Playoff Drivers Following the Charlotte Road Course

1AJ Allmendinger (P)3,050
2Austin Cindric (P)3,044
3Justin Allgaier (P)3,021
4Noah Gragson (P)3,017
5Daniel Hemric (P)3,016
6Justin Haley (P)3,015
7Harrison Burton (P)3,008
8Brandon Jones (P)3,002

Texas Motor Speedway Data

Season Race #: 33 of 36 (10-17-21)
Track Size: 1.5-mile
Banking/Turn 1 & 2: 20 degrees
Banking/Turn 3 & 4: 24 degrees
Banking/Frontstretch: 5 degrees
Banking/Backstretch: 5 degrees
Frontstretch Length: 2,250 feet
Backstretch Length: 1,330 feet
Race Length: 334 laps / 501 miles
Stage 1 & 2 Length: 105 laps (each)
Final Stage Length: 124 laps

Texas Motor Speedway Qualifying Data

Track qualifying record: Kurt Busch Stewart-Haas Racing Ford (200.915 mph, 26.877 secs.) on November 3, 2017.
2020 Playoff Pole Winner: Metric Qualifying set the Starting Lineup, Kevin Harvick started from the pole.

  • Kevin Harvick and Kurt Busch lead the NASCAR Cup Series in starts at Texas Motor Speedway with 36 each.
  • Ryan Blaney (12 starts) leads all active NASCAR Cup Series drivers in average starting position at Texas Motor Speedway with an 9.0.
  • Kurt Busch leads the NASCAR Cup Series in poles at Texas Motor Speedway with three (Spring 2015, Playoffs 2017, Spring 2018).
  • Four different manufacturers have won a NASCAR Cup Series pole at Texas Motor Speedway; led by Chevrolet (15 poles), and followed by Ford (12), Toyota (five) and Dodge (four).

Texas Motor Speedway Race Data

  • Nine drivers have multiple wins at Texas Motor Speedway; three of them are active this weekend – Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Kevin Harvick.
  • The youngest Texas winner is Joey Logano (April 7, 2014 – 23 years, 10 months, 14 days).
  • The third starting position is the most proficient starting position in the field at Texas Motor Speedway, producing more wins (eight) than any other starting position.
  • Four different manufacturers have won a NASCAR Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway, led by Ford with 15 wins; followed by Chevrolet (14), Toyota (eight) and Dodge (three).

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com

Angie Campbell
Angie Campbell
A native of Charlotte, NC, Angela (Angie) was first introduced to racing by her father. An avid fan of NASCAR, she found a way to combine her love of racing with her passion for writing. Angie is also an award-winning member of the National Motorsports Press Association. Follow her on Twitter @angiecampbell_ for the latest NASCAR news and feature stories.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Best New Zealand Online Casinos

RacingJunk.com and Leaf Racewear Safety Equipment Giveaway

Rocketplay Casino

Winspirit Australia

10 deposit casinos

Best Betting Sites in Canada

Latest articles