Johnson Finally Scores Michigan Victory

Jimmie Johnson finally beat Michigan International Speedway. “We’ve figured out every way to lose this race.” Johnson remarked in victory lane, “We finally figured out how to win one.” The victory was Johnson’s third in four weeks and his 69th career victory. Johnson held off pole sitter Kevin Harvick and Brad Keselowski for the win after a four tire stop on the final pit sequence. Johnson lead 39 of the 200 laps.

Kevin Harvick, who was the pole sitter came home second after leading the most laps in the event with 63. “I mean, the car was fast, just wound up on the wrong side of all the strategy. We finished second, and that’s it.” stated Harvick.

Brad Keselowski came across the line in third. “I think everyone out there tried some strategy,” said Keselowski. “We were a third to fifth place car today and that is where we finished.”

The race was slowed by three cautions the first of which came out on lap one involving Rookie of the Year contender Kyle Larson, Kasey Kahne and Kyle Busch. Kahne would rally back for a fifth place finish while Larson would finish eighth. Busch would finish a disappointing 41st, 31 laps down to the leader.

Points leader, Jeff Gordon would lead for 36 laps and come home sixth.

“The car was exceptional,” Gordon said. “In my opinion, that Drive to End Hunger Chevrolet belongs in Victory Lane. But, we lost some track position and when we lost track position, we knew it wasn’t going to handle good; we were just super loose even when we got clean air. That probably hurt us more than anything. We just never could move forward. And then there at the end, we came in and took two tires and boom, the thing was gone and flying again. So, yeah, sixth is not really indicative of the race car or what I felt like we were capable of, but we’ll certainly take it.”

Final Race Results:

1 Jimmie Johnson
2 Kevin Harvick
3 Brad Keselowski
4 Paul Menard
5 Kasey Kahne
6 Jeff Gordon
7 Dale Earnhardt Jr
8 Kyle Larson
9 Joey Logano
10 Clint Bowyer
11 Tony Stewart
12 Jamie McMurray
13 Kurt Busch
14 Matt Kenseth
15 Ryan Newman
16 Justin Allgaier
17 Danica Patrick
18 Juan Pablo Montoya
19 Trevor Bayne
20 Greg Biffle
21 Michael Annett
22 AJ Allmendinger
23 Carl Edwards
24 Casey Mears
25 Marcos Ambrose
26 David Gilliland
27 Ricky Stenhouse Jr
28 Cole Whitt
29 Denny Hamlin
30 Austin Dillon
31 Aric Almirola
32 Reed Sorenson
33 Josh Wise
34 Brett Moffitt
35 Landon Cassill
36 J.J. Yeley
37 Martin Truex Jr
38 David Ragan
39 David Stremme
40 Alex Bowman
41 Kyle Busch
42 Brian Vickers
43 Travis Kvapil

Series Point Standings as of this race:


2)Johnson-3w -15

3)DaleJr-2w -23

7)Logano-2w -83

9)Harvick-2w -90

5)Keselowski – 1w -47

6)Edwards-1w -75

10)KyBusch-1w -9

11)Newman -97

12)Hamlin-1w -102

13)Menard -117

14)Bowyer -120

15)Biffle -128

16)Stewart -135

17)Dillon -137

18)Vickers -143

19)Kahne -146

20)McMurray -153

17)Dillon -137




The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

My Betting Site

Online Casino

brand new bingo sites

Play at the best $1 deposit casino NZ to win with minimal risk

10 deposit casinos

Latest articles