Dale Earnhardt Jr. Receives 2014 NMPA Myers Brothers Award – 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion Kevin Harvick Earns Seven Honors

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Dec. 4, 2014) – In recognition of his career achievements as a champion driver, team owner and philanthropist, Dale Earnhardt Jr. was named the recipient of the 2014 NMPA Myers Brothers Award, a prestigious accolade recognizing those who have made outstanding contributions to the sport of stock car racing.

“This doesn’t even seem real,” said an emotional Earnhardt after receiving the honor at the 2014 NASCAR NMPA Myers Brothers Awards Luncheon held at Wynn Las Vegas. “The truth is obviously I’m extremely humbled by this award, but I feel like I share it on so many levels – my sister Kelley (Earnhardt Miller) along with everyone at JR Motorsports is as deserving of this as anyone. I have a lot of passions with NASCAR, but I wouldn’t be able to know how to make them realities without all those folks.”

An accomplished driver, evidenced by his 23 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victories and two NASCAR Nationwide Series championships, Earnhardt was cited just as much for his achievements outside his No. 88 Chevrolet, namely as the owner of JR Motorsports and a tireless community benefactor.

This season, JR Motorsports driver Chase Elliott became the youngest competitor to win a NASCAR national series championship after clinching the 2014 NASCAR Nationwide Series title. The 18 year old will likely join Brad Keselowski, Aric Almirola, Danica Patrick and Cole Whitt as Sprint Cup regulars who have developed under Earnhardt full time at the Nationwide level.

In addition to his Nationwide Series program, Earnhardt contributes to racing at its grassroots levels, fielding Late Model or Street Stock cars since founding JR Motorsports. His Late Model drivers Josh Berry and William Byron finished first and second, respectively, this season in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series at Hickory Motor Speedway.

Earnhardt’s work extends off the track into the community. He has made 235 appearances on behalf of the Make-A-Wish Foundation, a number that ranks in the top five among professional athletes. Furthermore, his Dale Jr. Foundation raised $913,000 to be distributed to more than 70 different charities.

“I’m just as proud of what we’ve accomplished there as anything we’ve ever done on the race track,” Earnhardt said about his foundation.

The NMPA Myers Brothers Award has been presented annually since 1958 in the names of pioneer NASCAR competitors Billy and Bobby Myers and its winner is chosen by a vote of the National Motorsports Press Association. Past recipients are a virtual who’s-who of the industry – drivers, owners, track operators, sponsors and members of the media – and include nearly every current member of the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Seventeen other awards were given out at the luncheon, spanning from achievements in marketing, performance on the track and exemplary work in the garage. 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Kevin Harvick garnered seven honors, including the 3M Lap Leader Award and Mobil 1 Driver of the Year.

“This is really the first time I’ve gotten to stand up here and actually realize what we’ve accomplished,” Harvick said. “Thank you to everyone who has participated in making our sport what it is.”

Here is the complete list of Thursday’s award winners from the NASCAR NMPA Myers Brothers Awards


  • NMPA Myers Brothers Award: Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  • Buddy Shuman Award: Bill Joyner, Sunoco’s Manager of Automotive Events
  • NASCAR Marketing Achievement Award: Toyota
  • 3M Lap Leader Award: Kevin Harvick
  • American Ethanol Green Flag Restart Award: Kevin Harvick
  • Coors Light Pole Award: Brad Keselowski
  • Duralast Brakes “Brake in the Race” Award: Kevin Harvick
  • Freescale “Wide Open” Award: Kevin Harvick
  • Goodyear Tires Award: Kevin Harvick
  • MAHLE Clevite Engine Builder of the Year Award: Billy Davis, Hendrick Engines No. 4 team
  • Mechanix Wear Most Valuable Pit Crew Award: Stewart-Haas Racing No. 4 team
  • Mobil 1 Driver of the Year Award: Kevin Harvick
  • MOOG Steering & Suspension Problem Solver of the Year Award: Luke Lambert, crew chief No. 31 Richard Childress Racing team
  • Sherwin-Williams Fastest Lap Award: Matt Kenseth
  • Sunoco Diamond Performance Award: Kevin Harvick
  • Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award: Kyle Larson
  • Champion Sponsor Award: Budweiser
  • Champion Crew Chief: Rodney Childers

Champion’s Week will conclude tomorrow with the following events (all times local PT unless noted):

Friday, Dec. 5

  • Pit Pass Check-In: Beginning Wednesday, Dec. 3, fans can pick up a Pit Pass at NASCAR fan headquarters, Champion’s Week Live at The LINQ Promenade, and start checking in at various locations around the city where NASCAR partners will feature displays, including show cars. Running from 10 a.m. – 6 p.m. each day, check-in locations include Tropicana (Ford), Treasure Island (Daytona International Speedway, Phoenix International Raceway and Auto Club Speedway), Paris Las Vegas (Las Vegas Motor Speedway), Caesars Palace (Chevrolet), Lagasse Stadium at The Palazzo (Toyota), and Excalibur (Mechanix Wear).


  • 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards: This black-tie celebration will be held at Wynn Las Vegas, where the 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion driver and owner and the other Chase drivers will be honored. The drivers and stars will walk the Red Carpet from 4 – 5 p.m. and com will live stream the arrivals from 4:30 – 5 p.m. FOX Sports 1 will air the show live beginning at 9 p.m. ET. Motor Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will begin coverage at 8 p.m. ET.


  • Betty Jane France Humanitarian Award Reveal: The Betty Jane France Humanitarian Award will be given to one dedicated NASCAR fan who has made a profound impact on children in his or her community. The NASCAR Foundation will announce the national award winner during this year’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards. Fans can cast their vote for the 2014 Betty Jane France Humanitarian Award winner by visitingNASCAR.com/Award before 11:59 p.m. ET on Dec. 4.

For more information on the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion’s Week in Las Vegas, visit www.NASCAR.com/ChampionsWeek.


The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc. (NASCAR) is the sanctioning body for the No. 1 form of motorsports in the United States. NASCAR consists of three national series (the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR Nationwide Series, and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series), four regional series, one local grassroots series and three international series. The International Motor Sports Association (IMSA) governs the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship, the premier U.S. sports car series. Based in Daytona Beach, Fla., with offices in eight cities across North America, NASCAR sanctions more than 1,200 races in more than 30 U.S. states, Canada, Mexico and Europe. For more information visit http://www.NASCAR.com and follow NASCAR at www.Facebook.com/NASCAR and Twitter: @NASCAR.


The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

brand new bingo sites

American Muscle

Latest articles