Ryan Newman Snags Sylvania 300 Pole at New Hampshire Motor Speedway!

Flat-track ace Ryan Newman stole the show in Cup qualifying with a blistering lap of 27.904 seconds….a new track record! Kasey Kahne will accompany Ryan on the front row with another pair of Chevy’s taking up row 2 with Jeff Gordon and Kurt Busch. Martin Truex Jr. was the highest qualifying non-chaser in 5th and Carl Edwards has the worst starting spot among chasers in 26th.

Ryan Newman now has 51 NASCAR Sprint Cup poles; seven of which have come at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. He’s won here three times here and a fourth win is definitely a possibility Sunday (or Monday pending Mother Nature’s plans…). Ryan is well known for his ability to muscle a car around flat tracks like Loudon, Indianapolis, Martinsville and Phoenix. In fact, his last four Cup victories dating back to 2010 have all come at tracks with little-to-no banking.

Chasers Starting Position

Ryan Newman (1st)

Kasey Kahne (2nd)

Jeff Gordon (3rd)

Kurt Busch (4th)

Joey Logano (6th)

Kevin Harvick (8th)

Matt Kenseth (9th)

Greg Biffle (10th)

Jimmie Johnson (11th)

Kyle Busch (12th)

Clint Bowyer (16th)

Dale Earnhardt Jr. (17th)

Carl Edwards (26th)

In qualifying, there was one major incident and that involved Josh Wise who was attempting to make his 4th career start at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. It appears he broke a right front shock coming out of turn four which sent him barreling into the outside wall. He emerged from the car alright but his Ford Fusion wasn’t so lucky; he’ll start last and in a back-up car.

Brian Vickers wanted to focus on his efforts in the NASCAR Nationwide Series today so veteran racer Kenny Wallace got the opportunity to qualify the Aaron’s Dream Machine; he clocked in 29th but Brian will have to start at the rear of the field Sunday. He started 13th earlier this year when he won this race. Michael McDowell will be piloting the No.51 this weekend, Bobby Labonte is back in the No.47 and Kevin Swindell starts 33rd in his NSCS debut for Swan Racing. Scroll down to see the complete starting lineup for the 17th Annual Sylvania 300!

1.) Ryan Newman

2.) Kasey Kahne

3.) Jeff Gordon

4.) Kurt Busch

5.) Martin Truex Jr.

6.) Joey Logano

7.) Paul Menard

8.) Kevin Harvick

9.) Matt Kenseth

10.) Greg Biffle

11.) Jimmie Johnson

12.) Kyle Busch

13.) Aric Almirola

14.) Denny Hamlin

15.) Juan Pablo Montoya

16.) Clint Bowyer

17.) Dale Earnhardt Jr.

18.) Mark Martin

19.) David Ragan

20.) Brad Keselowski

21.) Danica Patrick

22.) Marcos Ambrose

23.) Jamie McMurray

24.) David Gilliland

25.) Jeff Burton

26.) Carl Edwards

27.) Michael McDowell

28.) Bobby Labonte

29.) Kenny Wallace

30.) Travis Kvapil

31.) Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

32.) Landon Cassill

33.) Kevin Swindell

34.) Casey Mears

35.) David Reutimann

36.) Joe Nemechek

37.) JJ Yeley

38.) Dave Blaney

39.) Tony Rains

40.) Scott Riggs

41.) Johnny Sauter

42.) Timmy Hill

43.) Josh Wise

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Best New Zealand Online Casinos

10 deposit casinos

Best Betting Sites in Canada


Latest articles