Six Former Winners Headline 99th Indianapolis 500 Entry List

INDIANAPOLIS (Sunday, May 10, 2015) – Six former champions are among the drivers named to the entries filed for the 99th Running of the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race on May 24.
Thirty-three drivers have been named for 34 entries. Chevrolet engines will power 17 entries, Honda 17 in the race, which will mark the debut of superspeedway aerodynamic bodywork produced by the engine manufacturers.

The former Indianapolis 500 champions entered are: Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014) of Andretti Autosport, Tony Kanaan (2013) and Scott Dixon (2008) of Chip Ganassi Racing, Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002 and 2009) and Juan Pablo Montoya (2000) of Team Penske and Buddy Lazier (1996) of Lazier Racing Partners.

Castroneves will try to join one of the most exclusive clubs in worldwide motorsports – four-time winners of the Indianapolis 500. Castroneves is attempting to become the fourth four-time winner of the race, joining A.J. Foyt (1961, 1964, 1967, 1977), Al Unser (1970, 1971, 1978, 1987) and Rick Mears (1979, 1984, 1988, 1991).

In addition to the six past Indianapolis 500 race winners and seven Indy car champions, 20 drivers entered have won at least one race in Indy car competition, including Will Power, who won the Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis on May 9.

Indy car champions entered in the race include Power (2014), four-time Champ Car champion Sebastien Bourdais (2004-2007), three-time Indy car champion Dixon (2003, 2008 and 2013), Hunter-Reay (2012), Kanaan (2004), Lazier (2000) and Montoya (1999).

Two rookies with diverse credentials are also assigned to cars.

Gabby Chaves is the reigning Indy Lights champion and won the Freedom 100 at Indianapolis in 2014. Stefano Coletti is a multiple race winner in GP2.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Best New Zealand Online Casinos and Leaf Racewear Safety Equipment Giveaway

Rocketplay Casino

Winspirit Australia

10 deposit casinos

Best Betting Sites in Canada

Latest articles