Roush Fenway Advance – Talladega

42nd Annual Aaron’s 499

Sun. 4.1711, 1:00 p.m. EDT

FOX TV, MRN, Sirius 128

David Ragan No. 6 UPS Ford

Greg Biffle, No. 16 3M Scotch Blue Ford

Matt Kenseth, No. 17 Crown Royal Black Ford

Carl Edwards, No. 99 Aflac Ford

20th Annual Aaron’s 312

Sat. 4.16.11, 3:00 p.m. EDT

ESPN2 TV, MRN, Sirius 128

Ricky Stenhouse, No. 6 Blackwell Angus Ford

Trevor Bayne, No. 16 Roush Fenway Ford

Carl Edwards, No. 60 Fastenal Ford

Roush Fenway on a Roll Heading Into Talladega

Coming off one of the most successful weekends in team history, Roush Fenway heads to Talladega Superspeedway for the second of four scheduled restrictor-plate races of the season.

Last Weekend

Roush Fenway turned in one of strongest weekends in the organization’s history last weekend in Texas, sweeping both the Nationwide and Sprint Cup Series races, while winning both poles. The weekend saw a total of six Roush Fenway entries lead a combined 364 laps, while bringing home the first Ford Mustang win.

In The Lead

With the strong outing, Roush Fenway now leads both the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series point standings. Carl Edwards used his top-five finish at Texas to re-take the Sprint Cup lead, while Ricky Stenhouse Jr., used a solid top-10 effort to maintain his lead in the Nationwide Series.

Talladega Victory Lane

All-in-all Roush Fenway has won in all three of NASCAR’s major series at Talladega for a total of six victories, including three in the Cup Series, two in the Nationwide Series and one in the trucks. Two of Roush Fenway’s six Talladega wins came in 2009. Roush won its first race at Talladega with a Cup win in the spring of 1995. Former Roush Fenway driver Mark Martin won for Roush at Talladega in all three series.

Roush Fenway Talladega Wins

1995-1 Martin Cup

1997-1 Martin Cup

2009-2 McMurray Cup

1997 Martin NNS

2009 Ragan NNS

2006 Martin Truck

Roush Fenway Unrestricted

Roush Fenway has run a total of 324 races with the restrictor plate, winning eight times, while totaling 57 top fives and 113 top 10s, while turning over 40,000 miles with the restrictor plates.

Restrictor Plate Resurgence

The Roush Fenway restrictor-plate program has been strong in recent seasons. Matt Kenseth won the 2009 Daytona 500; the most prestigious restrictor-plate race, and Carl Edwards finished second in this season’s Daytona 500. Jamie McMurray won Roush Fenway’s last race Talladega, battling Kenseth down to the final restart. Roush Fenway won two of the four restrictor-plate races in 2009, but will look for its first win on a restrictor-plate track since then, this weekend at Talladega. Continues, a new website launched by Roush Fenway Racing, promises to provide not only an inside glimpse of two of NASCAR’s fastest rising stars, but a behind the scenes look at the competitive nature that drives their racing success on the track. The site will feature ongoing competitions ranging from on-track performances to battles of brawn, brain, and maybe even a test of their musical abilities. Bayne’s Ford Mustang will highlight the site this weekend.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

My Betting Site

Online Casino

Free Spins No Deposit UK

Play at the best $1 deposit casino NZ to win with minimal risk

10 deposit casinos

Latest articles