Belyea Wins DIRTcar Late Model Exhibition at Kawartha Speedway

Fraserville, ON – Greg Belyea (No.25 Excel Tower Services) worked quickly to win the 15-lap main event for the Brighton Speedway Vanderlaan DIRTcar Pro Late Models at Kawartha Speedway on Sunday night.

The Brighton Pro Late Models made their first ever start on asphalt Sunday as part of an exhibition show alongside the OSCAAR Super Late Models and Modifieds at the 3/8-mile oval.

The veteran driver Belyea jumped out to the early lead after moving past Kyle Sopaz (No.12 Performance Sales  & Leasing) on the opening lap of the main event.

Belyea was reeled back in by the only caution in the event when Zeke McKeown (No.97 McDonald Homes/Dibbits Excavating) spun in turn two on lap four.

Belyea had no real challengers in the event as Matt Vanderlinden (No. 09 Larkin Slavage) ran out of laps to track down the No.25 once he got to the runner-up spot.

Former Kawartha Speedway asphalt regular Stormin’ Norm Mayhew (No.60 Only Solutions/Mayhew Graphics) roared to a third-place finish at his old stomping grounds.

Following the race, the top-three drivers all said they enjoyed the race and would be open to trying the concept again. While the drivers expected their dirt tires to be destroyed by the asphalt, Mayhew said following the race his tires would be useable for the team’s next race at Brighton Speedway.

OSCAAR Racing would like to thank Brighton Speedway track owner/promoter Mark Rinaldi for helping put together a successful event.

The Brighton Speedway DIRTcar Vanderlaan Building Supplies Pro Late Models are back in action next Saturday night for a full-night of action at the 1/3-mile oval. They will be joined by the Oilguard Canadian Modifieds, Brighton Automotive Pro Stocks, Bill’s Johns Comp 4s, and Quite Septic Stingers. Kid’s Races for the Canadian National Autism Fund are also on the schedule. For a full list of events, visit

Unofficial Results – Vanderlaan DIRTcar Pro Late Models 15-Lap Feature, Kawartha Speedway – August 11, 2013

1. 25 Greg Belyea

2. 09 Matt Vanderlinden

3. 60 Norm Mayhew

4. 29 Phil Potts

5. 46 Brandon Mowat

6. 12 Kyle Sopaz

7. 97 Zeke McKeown

8. 9 Greg Peake

9. 55 Mark Rayner

Heat Race Winners: 97 Zeke McKeown, 46 Brandon Mowat

By Clayton Johns (@cjohnsmedia) – OSCAAR Media and Public Relations


The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Best New Zealand Online Casinos and Leaf Racewear Safety Equipment Giveaway

Rocketplay Casino

10 deposit casinos

Best Betting Sites in Canada

Latest articles