Gresel Dominates Kawartha For Second Win of Season

Fraserville, ON – Andrew Gresel (No.81 Sauble Falls/CUSW/London Recreational) started inside the front row for the Midas of Orangeville 50-lap A-Main and never looked back on Sunday night at Kawartha Speedway. Gresel led every lap of the main event to earn his second career OSCAAR win in his rookie season.

As the event victor, Gresel will also take home four new Hoosier Racing Tire slicks, courtesy of Midas of Orangeville.

Gresel fought off challenges from Brandon Watson (No.9 Shear Metal Products) on a number of different occasions and from Rob Clarke (No.49 Cars by Clarke/London Mechanical) in the closing laps as well.

Gresel’s second win of the season comes one week following his runner-up finish at Peterborough Speedway on August 3.

The Hepworth, Ont.-based Gresel survived a number of restarts in the main event of the evening. The first caution flew just four laps in when Jim Bowman (No.63 Remax/TMG Mortgages) got turned around in turn two.

Two laps later, Gary Passer (No.551 Jenco Equipment) spun in almost an identical spot to Bowman to bring out the caution.

The biggest caution of the night came on lap nine when Mike Beyore (No.54 Stemac/Millenium Crane) rolled to a stop off of turn two. Beyore had been running in the sixth spot when the caution came out. For the second race in a row, Beyore suffered from carbon monoxide poisoning inside the cockpit. The Whitby, Ont. driver is highly susceptible to the deadly gas after being poisoned several years ago.

Series officials were forced to display the red flag for nearly 10 minutes as it became apparent fluid had been laid down on the race track after the rear-end let go on Derrick Tiemersma’s car (No.7 Wayfreight/Spira Fire Protection) and quik-dry would need to be applied to the surface.

On the ensuing restart, Gresel got a fantastic start again, forcing Brandon Watson to fall in to line. Glenn Watson (No.22 Rival Office Solutions/Line-X), Jesse Kennedy (No.10 Cameron Crane/Bev’s Auto Body), and Rob Clarke made up the top-five.

The field ran 24 laps of consecutive green flag racing with Gresel and Brandon Watson pacing the field. The two-drivers led by nearly a full straightaway over Kennedy who sat third.

Things went awry on the ignition system on Brandon Watson’s car with 33 laps complete which put the No.9 car off the pace. Watson rolled to a stop on the front-stretch and had to be pushed to pit lane. The team was eventually able to re-fire the car, but only after falling three laps off the pace.

One final restart on lap 35 pitted Gresel and Clarke side-by-side for the final time, but nobody had anything for the rookie driver. Gresel cruised over the final 15 laps to earn his second career win and take a strangle hold on the rookie points lead.

Clarke would finish second while 2013 Don Biederman Memorial champion Dwayne Baker (No.48 Baker Performance Parts/St. Onge Recreation) would battle his way to the third spot at the end of 50 laps.

Glenn Watson was fourth, Kennedy came home fifth, while Shane Maginnis (No. 03 Budds’ GMC) was sixth and Tyler Hawn (No.42 Stewart Carriers Ltd./Belford Haulage) was the final car on the lead lap in the seventh spot.

The OSCAAR Super Late Model tour return to action in two weeks’ time on Saturday August 24 at Peterborough Speedway. For a full schedule of events, stay tuned to .


Midas of Orangeville 50 at Kawartha Speedway – Aug. 11, 2013 (Starting Position in Parentheses)

1. 81 Andrew Gresel (1)

2. 49 Rob Clarke (6)

3. 48 Dwayne Baker (11)

4. 22 Glenn Watson (4)

5. 10 Jesse Kennedy (2)

6. 03 Shane Maginnis (7)

7. 42 Tyler Hawn (16)

8. 2 John Owen (12)

9. 83 Ian Bourque (13)

10. 63 Jim Bowman (14)

11. 551 Gary Passer (18)

12. 9 Brandon Watson (3)

13. 00 Wayne Isaacs (10) (DNF)

14. 71c Ethan Courneyea (17) (DNF)

15. 07 Todd Campbell (20) (DNF)

16. 54 Mike Beyore (5) (DNF)

17. 7 Derrick Tiemersma (9) (DNF)

18. 04 Rudy Oppersma (15) (DNF)

19. 57 Craig Stevenson (19) (DNF)

20. 70 Jeff Hanley (DNS)

21. 82 Corey Jones (DNS)

Klotz Synthetics Canada Qualifying Heat Race Winners: 49 Rob Clarke (2), 9 Brandon Watson, 22 Glenn Watson, 7 Derrick Tiemersma, and 10 Jesse Kennedy.

The OSCAAR Super Late Model tour is presented by a number of dedicated sponsors throughout Ontario, including: Knightworks Design, Hoosier Racing Tire, Klotz Synthetics Canada,, Dave Franks Photos, Dickson Printing, Finishline Fabrication, McColl Racing Enterprises, McGunegill Engine Performance, Stefko Racing Engines, VP Racing Fuels,, RaceTime Radio, Inside Track Motorsport News, Jenco Equipment, Midas of Orangeville, Reinhart Trailer Sales, North Toronto Auctions, and South Shore Services.

By Clayton Johns (@cjohnsmedia) – OSCAAR Media and Public Relations


Photo Credit: Dan Little Jr.


The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Free Spins No Deposit UK

10 deposit casinos

Latest articles