Chase Elliott Captures First XFINITY Win of 2015 at Richmond

Chase Elliott won the 2015 Virginia 529 College Savings 250 after holding off pole sitter Kyle Busch in the final 20 laps. Elliott finally broke both a 22 race Cup driver winning streak at Richmond and a personal 39 race winless streak, gaining momentum on both a repeat championship and his ascension to Jeff Gordon’s 24 car next season.

Busch dominated early in the first 81 laps before losing the lead for good from Brian Scott. The rest of the race was led entirely by XFINITY series drivers, beginning with Brian Scott leading almost all of the middle portion. Scott led 62 straight laps before fading after lap 143. Elliott would ultimately take the lead on lap 167, and held it for the rest of the way.

Scott frustratingly finished third after leading 63 laps, while Joey Logano uncharacteristically quietly finished fourth. Erik Jones rounded out the top five.

One of the biggest stories of the night was Josh Berry. The JR Motorsports driver, in just his third start in the XFINITY series, constantly ran ahead of Cup drivers. A bad pit stop before the final restart doomed him to a seventh place finish. Berry has no more XFINITY starts planned but wants to compete full-time next season.

There were six cautions for 48 laps, one of which was a multi-car wreck on the very first lap between John Wes Townley, David Starr, Jimmy Weller, Joey Gase, Benny Gordon and Carl Long.

In championship points news, Chris Buescher, who finished 10th, continues to lead Elliott by 21 points, followed by Ty Dillon (-27 points) and Reagan Smith (-49 points). The all important Owner’s Championship features the Penske 22 (Logano this week) leading the JGR 54 (Busch this week) by 82 points.

Complete Results for XFINITY Series Virginia 529 College Savings 250:

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Brian Scott
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Erik Jones
  6. Regan Smith
  7. Josh Berry
  8. Ty Dillon
  9. Austin Dillon
  10. Chris Buescher
  11. Brennan Poole
  12. Daniel Suarez
  13. Ryan Reed
  14. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  15. Ross Chastain
  16. Brendan Gaughan
  17. Ryan Sieg
  18. Landon Cassill
  19. Blake Koch
  20. JJ Yeley
  21. Dakoda Armstrong
  22. Cale Conley
  23. Harrison Rhodes
  24. Elliott Sadler
  25. Dylan Kwasniewski
  26. Eric McClure
  27. Joey Gase
  28. Josh Reaume
  29. Mike Harmon
  30. John Wes Townley
  31. Ryan Truex
  32. Hermie Sadler
  33. Matt Waltz
  34. Jeremy Clements
  35. Ryan Ellis
  36. Carl Long
  37. David Starr
  38. Benny Gordon
  39. Jimmy Weller III
  40. Jeff Green

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

brand new bingo sites

American Muscle

Latest articles