Sprint Unlimited at Daytona – Schedule & Driver Lineup

NASCAR returns this week with the Sprint Unlimited at Daytona International Raceway Saturday night followed by Sprint Cup qualifying for the Daytona 500 on Sunday. FOX will provide television coverage for both events while all practices can be seen on FS1. Please see the complete schedule and the driver lineup for the Sprint Unlimited below.

Friday, Feb. 12:

On Track:

5-5:55 p.m.: Sprint Cup Series Sprint Unlimited Practice – FS1
6:30-7:25 p.m.: Sprint Cup Series Sprint Unlimited Final Practice – FS1

GarageCam: (Watch live)

4:30 p.m.: Sprint Cup Series

Press Conferences (Watch live at NASCAR.com)

11 a.m.: Daytona International Speedway announcement
11:30 a.m.: Stewart-Haas Racing announcement
1 p.m.: Eddie Wood, Leonard Wood, Jon Wood
2 p.m.: NASCAR, Chip Ganassi Racing announcement with Jamie McMurray
3:30 p.m.: Martin Truex Jr.
3:45 p.m.: Joey Logano
4 p.m.: Jimmie Johnson and Steve Post

Saturday, Feb. 13:

On Track:

10:30 a.m-12:25 p.m.: Sprint Cup Series Practice – FS1
1:30-3:25 p.m.: Sprint Cup Series Practice – FS1
8:15 p.m.: Sprint Cup Series Sprint Unlimited – (75 laps, 187.5 miles) – FOX

Press Conferences (Watch live at NASCAR.com)

10 p.m.: Sprint Unlimited Post-race (Time approx.)

Sunday, Feb. 14:

On Track:

1:15 p.m.: Sprint Cup Series Daytona 500 Coors Light Pole Qualifying – FOX

Press Conferences (Watch live at NASCAR.com)

2:45 p.m.: Sprint Cup Daytona 500 Post-qualifying (Time approx.)

Sprint Unlimited Driver Eligibility:

There are 25 open positions for the Sprint Unlimited. The eligible drivers include 2015 Coors Light Pole Award winners, former winners of the Sprint Unlimited and former Daytona 500 pole winners who competed full time in 2015.

The 16 drivers who participated in the 2015 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup championship are also eligible. Any remaining available positions will be filled based on 2015 Sprint Cup driver points.

Eligible Drivers:

2015 Coors Light Pole Awards Winners

AJ Allmendinger
Kurt Busch
Kyle Busch
Carl Edwards
Denny Hamlin
Kevin Harvick
Jimmie Johnson
Kasey Kahne
Matt Kenseth
Brad Keselowski
Jeff Gordon – Will be replaced by Casey Mears as the first provisional
Joey Logano

Former Sprint Unlimited Race Winners

Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Tony Stewart – Will be replaced by Brian Vickers

Former DAYTONA 500 Coors Light Pole Award Winners

Greg Biffle
Austin Dillon
David Gilliland – Replaced by Ricky Stenhouse Jr. due to no car available
Danica Patrick
Martin Truex Jr.

2015 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Drivers

Clint Bowyer
Jamie McMurray
Paul Menard
Ryan Newman

2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship Driver Points

Aric Almirola
Kyle Larson

If an eligible driver cannot or does not enter the race, the open position is filled based on 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship driver points.

The first five provisional drivers are as follows:

Casey Mears – Will compete as a result of Jeff Gordon’s retirement
Ricky Stenhouse Jr. – Will compete because David Gilliand cannot (no car)
Sam Hornish Jr.
David Ragan
Trevor Bayne

Sprint Unlimited Format Notes:

The event will be split into two segments with a competition caution at lap 25 separating the segments. As in 2015, NASCAR will pair select fans with each crew chief and hold a random drawing to determine the starting grid and pit road positions.


The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com

Angela Campbell
Angela Campbell
A native of Charlotte, NC, Angela (Angie) was first introduced to racing by her father. An avid fan of NASCAR, she found a way to combine her love of racing with her passion for writing. Angie is also an award-winning member of the National Motorsports Press Association. Follow her on Twitter @angiecampbell_ for the latest NASCAR news and feature stories.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Best New Zealand Online Casinos

RacingJunk.com and Leaf Racewear Safety Equipment Giveaway

Rocketplay Casino

Winspirit Australia

10 deposit casinos

Best Betting Sites in Canada

Latest articles