Betty Jane France Posthumously Receives 2016 Myers Brothers Award

Industry’s Best Honored At End-Of-Season Luncheon

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Dec. 1, 2016) – In recognition of her leadership and accomplishments as founder and chairwoman emeritus of the NASCAR Foundation, the late Betty Jane France was named the recipient of the 2016 Myers Brothers Award. The prestigious honor recognizes those who have made outstanding contributions to stock car racing and is voted upon by the National Motorsports Press Association.

A philanthropist in support of children’s health causes, France started the NASCAR Foundation in 2006. Through her leadership and passion over the past decade, the NASCAR Foundation has raised more than $25 million and improved the lives of one million children across the country.

In 2011, the Betty Jane France Humanitarian Award Presented by Nationwide was created in her honor. Each year it is granted to a person who exhibits the unwavering commitment to philanthropic and community efforts that Betty Jane demonstrated throughout her life.

France, a longtime community leader in Daytona Beach, Florida, helped establish the “Speediatrics” children’s care units at Halifax Health in Daytona Beach, Homestead Hospital in Homestead, Florida, and NYU Langone Medical Center in New York.

In addition to her guidance of the NASCAR Foundation, she served as NASCAR executive vice president and assistant treasurer, helping her husband, former NASCAR President Bill France Jr., elevate the sanctioning body to America’s No. 1 form of motorsports.

France is the mother of NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France and International Speedway Corporation CEO Lesa France Kennedy.

The Myers Brothers Award – named after pioneer NASCAR competitors Billy and Bobby Myers – has been presented every year since 1958.

Eighteen other awards were given out at the luncheon, acknowledging achievements ranging from marketing excellence to success on the track and skill in the garage.

Here is the complete list of Thursday’s award winners from the NASCAR NMPA Myers Brothers Awards


  • NMPA Myers Brothers Award: Betty Jane France
  • Buddy Shuman Award: Jack Roush
  • NASCAR Marketing Achievement Award: Comcast XFINITY
  • Chevrolet Cross Flags Award: Tony Stewart
  • American Ethanol Green Flag Restart Award: Kevin Harvick
  • Coors Light Pole Award: Carl Edwards
  • Duralast Brakes “Brake in the Race” Award: Kyle Busch
  • Goodyear NASCAR Series Champion Award: Jimmie Johnson
  • Ingersoll Rand Power Move Award: Dave Rogers, Joe Gibbs Racing No. 19 Crew Chief
  • MAHLE Clevite Engine Builder of the Year Award: Scott Vester, Hendrick Engines No. 4 team
  • Mechanix Wear Most Valuable Pit Crew Award: Hendrick Motorsports No. 48 team
  • Mobil 1 Driver of the Year Award: Kyle Busch
  • MOOG Steering & Suspension Problem Solver of the Year Award: Alan Gustafson, crew chief No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports team
  • Sherwin-Williams Fastest Lap Award: Kyle Busch
  • Sunoco Diamond Performance Award: Jimmie Johnson
  • Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award: Chase Elliott
  • Champion Sponsor Award: Lowe’s
  • Champion Crew Chief Award: Chad Knaus
  • Betty Jane France Humanitarian Award Presented by Nationwide: Andy Hoffman



The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc. (NASCAR) is the sanctioning body for the No. 1 form of motorsports in the United States. NASCAR consists of three national series (the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series™, NASCAR XFINITY Series™, and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series™), four regional series, one local grassroots series and three international series. The International Motor Sports Association™ (IMSA®) governs the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship™, the premier U.S. sports car series. Based in Daytona Beach, Fla., with offices in eight cities across North America, NASCAR sanctions more than 1,200 races in more than 30 U.S. states, Canada, Mexico and Europe. For more information visit and, and follow NASCAR on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Snapchat (‘NASCAR’). For race tickets, visit

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

My Betting Site

Online Casino

Free Spins No Deposit UK

10 deposit casinos

Latest articles