RCR Adds Scott Lagasse Jr. to its NASCAR XFINITY Series Driver Lineup

NASCAR veteran will drive the No. 3 Chevrolet Camaro for four races during the 2017 season

WELCOME, N.C. (February 28, 2017) – Veteran NASCAR driver Scott Lagasse Jr. will join Richard Childress Racing’s 2017 driver lineup to pilot the No. 3 Chevrolet Camaro in the NASCAR XFINITY Series for four races. Lagasse Jr., 36, of St. Augustine, Florida, will race under the RCR banner at Iowa Speedway on June 25, Road America, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course and in the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Lagasse Jr. and current No. 3 XFINITY Series driver, Ty Dillon, are competing for the 2017 XFINITY Series owner’s championship, an award that RCR has won five times. Lagasse Jr. has made 61 starts in the XFINITY Series and 25 starts in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Lagasse Jr. will work with first-year crew chief, Matt Swiderski, who assumed crew chief duties for the No. 3 team at the end of the 2016 season.

“We welcome Scott to our impressive lineup of this season’s XFINITY Series drivers,” said Gil Martin, director of competition for RCR’s NXS program. “Our goal is to win races and win this year’s owner’s championship, and I’m confident that Scott will help the No. 3 team accomplish those goals.”

“Knowing the history of the No. 3 car and what it means to Mr. Childress, it is a real honor for me to be a part of this team,” said Lagasse Jr. “I look forward to helping RCR win an owner’s championship this season.”

An announcement regarding sponsorship with Lagasse Jr. and the No. 3 team is scheduled for a later date.


About Richard Childress Racing:
Richard Childress Racing (rcrracing.com) is a renowned, performance-driven racing, marketing and manufacturing organization. RCR has earned more than 200 victories and 17 championships, including six in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series with the legendary Dale Earnhardt. RCR was the first organization to win championships in the NASCAR Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Its 2017 Cup Series lineup includes two-time NASCAR champion Austin Dillon (No. 3 Dow/American Ethanol/AAA Chevrolet), 2011 Brickyard 400 champion Paul Menard (No. 27 Menards Chevrolet) and 2008 Daytona 500 champion and 2013 Brickyard 400 winner Ryan Newman (No. 31 Caterpillar/Grainger Chevrolet). Its XFINITY Series program includes a multi-driver lineup with Austin Dillon, Ben Kennedy and Paul Menard (No. 2 Rheem/Menards Chevrolet), a multi-driver lineup with Ty Dillon and others (No. 3 Bass Pro Shops/Rheem/Red Kap Chevrolet), Daniel Hemric (No. 21 Chevrolet), Brandon Jones (No. 33 Menards/Nexteer Chevrolet) and Brendan Gaughan (No. 62 South Point Hotel & Casino/U.S. Cellular Chevrolet).

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Best New Zealand Online Casinos

RacingJunk.com and Leaf Racewear Safety Equipment Giveaway

Rocketplay Casino

Winspirit Australia

10 deposit casinos

Best Betting Sites in Canada

Latest articles