Sweeping Changes at HMS

It seemed inevitable when 2 out of 4 teams struggled desperately and a third struggled to hold it’s own, the Rick Hendrick would not be a happy man. It is likely that many felt the changes would not come until after the Championship victory celebration. But that was not the case. Today Hendrick Motorsports announced sweeping changes within it’s organization.

[media-credit name=”CIA Stock Photo” align=”alignleft” width=”300″][/media-credit]Personnel adjustments in preparation for the 2011 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season, were made with drivers Mark Martin, Jeff Gordon and Dale Earnhardt Jr. being teamed with new crew chiefs.

Below are the driver-crew chief pairings for each Hendrick Motorsports car, effective immediately:

No. 5 Chevrolet

Driver: Mark Martin

Crew Chief: Lance McGrew

No. 24 Chevrolet

Driver: Jeff Gordon

Crew Chief: Alan Gustafson

No. 48 Chevrolet

Driver: Jimmie Johnson

Crew Chief: Chad Knaus

No. 88 Chevrolet

Driver: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Crew Chief: Steve Letarte

The cars of Martin and four-time Sprint Cup champion Gordon will be fielded out of the same facility, now known as the 5/24 shop. Earnhardt Jr.’s Chevrolets will be prepared out of the renamed 48/88 shop alongside those of five-time and defending Cup champion Jimmie Johnson.

“This will improve us as an organization, across the board,” said Rick Hendrick, owner of Hendrick Motorsports. “We had a championship season (in 2010), but we weren’t

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Best New Zealand Online Casinos

RacingJunk.com and Leaf Racewear Safety Equipment Giveaway

Rocketplay Casino

Winspirit Australia

10 deposit casinos

Best Betting Sites in Canada

Latest articles