NCAT: Scott Steckly To Start Pole After Qualifying Rained Out at Circuit ICAR

[media-credit name=”Matthew Manor” align=”alignright” width=”350″][/media-credit]After a persistant rain throughout the day, NASCAR Canadian Tire Series made the choice to cancel qualifying for Sunday’s ICAR Lucas Oil Grand Prix presented by Budweiser at Circuit ICAR. The decision was made as due to the wet, rainy conditions, there was a possibility for unequal track conditions throughout the season.

As a result, the race lineup is set by last year’s points, as per the rule book, handing defending series champion Scott Steckly the pole. Steckly finished third last week while J.R. Fitzpatrick won with D.J. Kennington second. Kennington will start second alongside Steckly in second at Circuit ICAR while Fitzpatrick starts third. Kerry Micks and Ron Beauchamp Jr. round out the top five.

A pair of practice sessions were held earlier in the day, with rookie Elie Arsenau posting the fastest lap in the rain at 60.168mph. He will start the race 27th.

Louis-Philippe Dumoulin was second fastest at 59.957 mph followed by Micks at 59.657 mph. Andrew Ranger (59.588 mph) and Steckly (59.544 mph) completed the top five.

Defending race champion Robin Buck suffered damage in practice after hitting the turn seven tire wall, is slated to start the race from 15th after finishing practice in sixth.

The race is scheduled to take the green flag on Sunday afternoon at 1:30 p.m. ET.


NCATS ICAR 6/3/12 Race Lineup

1 22 Scott Steckly, Milverton, Ont. Canadian Tire Dodge
2 17 D.J. Kennington, St. Thomas, Ont. Castrol Edge/Mahindra Tractors Dodge
3 84 J.R. Fitzpatrick, Cambridge, Ont. Equipment Express Chevrolet
4 02 Kerry Micks, Mt. Albert, Ont. Leland/BDI/PartSource Ford
5 60 Ron Beauchamp, Jr., Windsor, Ont. Mopar/Mobil 1 Dodge
6 21 Jason White, Sun Peaks, B.C. A&W/Bower&Wilkins Dodge
7 3 Jason Hathaway, Dutton, Ont. Snap-on Tools/Vortex Brake Pads Dodge
8 55 Dexter Stacey, Kahnawake, Que. WJS Motorsports Dodge
9 23 Jeff Lapcevich, Grimsby, Ont. Tim Hortons Dodge
10 5 Noel Dowler, Sherwood Park, Alta. EMCO-Kohler/Rheem Dodge
11 07 Isabelle Tremblay, St. Hippolyte, Que. Frank Lyman Design Dodge
12 47 Louis-Philippe Dumoulin, Trois-Rivieres, Que. WeatherTech Canada/Bellemare Dodge
13 99 Steve Cote, Ile Bizard, Que * White Motorsports Chevrolet
14 97 Hugo Vannini, Repentigny, Que. VTI Motorsports Ford
15 66 Robin Buck, Campbellville, Ont. Quaker State Dodge
16 27 Andrew Ranger, Roxton Pond, Que. Dodge/GC Motorsports Dodge
17 56 Howie Scannell Jr., Milton, Ont. Trailers by Jim Bray Dodge
18 10 Derek White, Kahnawake, Que. Burger Barn Chevrolet
ROW 10
19 94 Dave Coursol, St. Jerome, Que. * Carquest Canada Dodge
20 81 Larry Jackson, Oakville, Ont. * B&B Decals/Speedy Auto Service Dodge
ROW 11
21 90 Martin Roy, Napierville, Que * Veloce/Gamache Truck Center Dodge
22 44 Jarrad Whissell, Calgary, Alta. SMS Equipment/Komatsu Ford
ROW 12
23 11 Mike Scholz, Sault Ste. Marie, Ont. * Jiffy Car Wash/ Chevrolet
24 29 Ray Courtemanche Jr., Montreal, Que. * Construction Danam Bonzai Dodge
ROW 13
25 36 Alex Labbe, St. Albert, Que. * VR Victoriaville Dodge
26 04 J.F. Dumoulin, Trois-Rivieres, Que. ACASS/Bellemare/Marac Dodge
ROW 14
27 03 Elie Arseneau, Laval, Que. * Prime Racing/Circuit ICAR Chevrolet
28 82 Dave Connelly, Arnprior, Ont. Schneider’s/Metro Dodge
ROW 15
29 85 Michel Pilon, Blainville, Que. Aquacoupe Technologie Chevrolet

* Rookie of the Year contender

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

My Betting Site

Online Casino

brand new bingo sites

Play at the best $1 deposit casino NZ to win with minimal risk

10 deposit casinos

Latest articles